Skip to content Skip to navigation

Important Information Regarding COVID-19

For quickest response to an issue, please submit a ServiceNow Ticket to the Student Services Center. If you prefer to talk to an SSC Specialist, we offer advising sessions via Zoom by appointment. SSC specialists are also available for live chat from LiveChat Monday – Friday, 12:00 – 4:00 p.m. via the Service Now portal.

Latest information about the University's response to COVID-19 • Academic questions are extensively answered in the TeachAnywhere FAQ • Latest updates for: UndergraduatesGrad Students and Postdocs

See the Registrar's COVID-19 and Academic Continuity page for information for students, faculty, and staff relevant to classes and academic activities and administration. (updated August 21, 2020)

University Awards

Due to the COVID-19 situation, the nomination period for the Cuthbertson, Gores, and Dinkelspiel Awards will be extended until October 19, 2020.

The Walter J. Gores Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The Gores Award is the University’s highest award for excellence in teaching. Gores Awards are made each year to faculty and teaching staff members who have made special contributions to teaching in its broadest sense: lecturing, tutoring, advising, and discussion leading. Ordinarily, one award will be made to a senior faculty member or senior lecturer, one to a junior faculty member, and two to teaching assistants. To nominate for the Gores awards, visit the following proposal webpage: 

The Dinkelspiel Awards for Exceptional Contributions to Undergraduate Education

At least two Dinkelspiel Awards will be given to faculty or staff, one with 10 or more years of service to the University and one with fewer than 10 years of service, for their distinctive and exceptional contributions to undergraduate education or the quality of student life at Stanford. Two awards will also be given to graduating seniors in the current academic year's class who have combined praiseworthy academic achievement with significant contributions to undergraduate student life. To nominate for the Dinkelspiel awards, visit the following proposal webpage:

The Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award for Exceptional Contributions to Stanford

The purpose of this award, which is open to all members of the Stanford community, is to recognize extraordinary contributions to the achievement of the goals of the University. Such contributions might be, for example, unusually distinguished service to the University, uncommon ingenuity in meeting University objectives, or exceptional intelligence, diligence, and sensitivity in discharging responsibilities. To nominate for the Cuthbertson award, visit the following proposal webpage:

The President's Awards for Excellence Through Diversity

These awards honor individuals and programs that have made exceptional contributions to enhancing and supporting diversity (broadly defined) within the Stanford University community. The awards are intended to recognize that a diverse campus community enhances our institutional excellence by broadening and strengthening the University's mission of teaching, learning and scholarship.

For more information on nominations, procedures and past winners, go to the President's Awards for Excellence Through Diversity web site.