Skip to content Skip to navigation

Important Information Regarding COVID-19

See the Registrar's COVID-19 and Academic Continuity page for information for students, faculty, and staff relevant to classes and academic activities and administration. (updated August 21, 2020)

Final Recommending List Approval - Chair/Director

How to Set Up Chairs to Review Recommending Lists

Permissions Needed

Any Department Chair (or other faculty member) that will sign off on a final recommending list must be set up with permissions in two ways:

  1. In Authority Manager, the Department Chair or faculty member must have the SR Recommending List Chair role (please refer to the below screen shot). If a chair or faculty does not have this permission in Authority Manager, the School Dean (or other authority granter) should be contacted to request this role. authority manager role needed
  2. In Axess, the Department Chair or faculty member must have the appropriate Recommending List Role based on which population (or populations) of students they will review final recommending lists for.
    1. Available final recommending list roles in Axess are listed below. Please note that if a Chair/approved faculty member will review and sign off on both undergraduate and graduate/professional student recommending lists, then the chair/approved faculty should be granted access to both of the roles below.
      1. Department Chair - UG: For department chair/approved faculty member who will approve undergraduate degree candidates.
      2. Department Chair - GR/Prof  - For department chair/approved faculty member who will approve graduate and/or professional degree candidates.
    2. Permissions are granted in the STF Notification Setup page (Main Menu > Set Up SACR > Product Related > Student Records > Curriculum Management > STF Notification Setup) via the following steps:
      • First, search for Academic Organization, this is your program or department name:

search for academic org

  • Next, enter in the chair/approved faculty information, select the appropriate Recommending List Role(s) from the drop down menu,  and click the 'Save' button, as shown below:

screen shot of final recommending list role options

To View and Approve Final Recommending Lists

  • After the student services administrator routes the final Recommending List to the Chair, an email will be sent to the Chair that the Recommending List is ready to be reviewed and approve.

  • Once the email is received, go to Teaching or Advising tab in Axess

  • Click on “Final Recommending List” in left column

link in Teaching menu to select Final Recommending Lists

  • Click on link for degree program (there is a separate list for each degree level or academic plan)

choose degree program for Final Recommending List

  • Review list of students and status of "approve" or "deny"

  • Enter any comments for Registrar's office

  • Click "Submit to Registrar" to acknowledge and approve the Final Recommending List

button to submit Final Recommending list to Registrar

Important notes:

  • Recommending List is only available to view after the student services administrator has routed list to Chair.

  • Chair can view Recommending List until it is submitted to Registrar.

  • Chair can submit list to Registrar starting on the late application to graduate deadline. Final Recommending Lists should be approved by the Final Recommending List deadline.

Key Deadlines for Final Recommending Lists

Term Application to Graduate Deadline Late Application to Graduate Deadline Grades for Graduating Students Due Final Recommending Lists Become Available (to save, not submission to Chair or Registrar) Final Recommending Lists Become Available (to submit to Chair and Registrar) Final Recommending List Deadline Faculty Senate Steering Committee Reviews Conferral Lists Degree Conferral Date
Autumn 2020-21 Friday, November 6, 5:00 pm Friday, December 4, 5:00 pm Tuesday, December 8 Tuesday, August 18 Saturday, December 5 Thursday, December 10, Noon  Tuesday, January 5 Thursday, January 7
Winter 2020-21 Friday, February 26, 5:00 pm Friday, March 12, 5:00 pm Sunday, March 23, at 11:59 pm Monday, December 7 Saturday, March 13 Friday, March 26, 5:00 pm Thursday, March 30 Thursday, April 1
Spring 2020-21 Friday, April 9, 5:00 pm Friday, May 28, 5:00 pm Tuesday, June 8, 5:00 pm Monday, March 1 Saturday, June 5

Friday, June 11, Noon

Tuesday, June 15 Sunday, June 13 (the official conferral date will remain the same, however the posting process will occur on June 16)
Summer 2020-21 Friday, August 13, 5:00 pm Friday, August 27, 5:00 pm Tuesday, September 7 Monday May, 24 Saturday, August 28 Tuesday, September 14, 5:00 pm Tuesday, September 21

Thursday, September 23