Skip to content Skip to navigation

Final Recommending List Approval - Chair/Director

How to Set Up Chairs to Review Recommending Lists

Permissions Needed

Any Department Chair (or other faculty member) that will sign off on a final recommending list must be set up with permissions in two ways:

  1. In Authority Manager, the Department Chair or faculty member must have the SR Recommending List Chair role (please refer to the below screen shot). If a chair or faculty does not have this permission in Authority Manager, the School Dean (or other authority granter) should be contacted to request this role. authority manager role needed
  2. In Axess, the Department Chair or faculty member must have the appropriate Recommending List Role based on which population (or populations) of students they will review final recommending lists for.
    1. Available final recommending list roles in Axess are listed below. Please note that if a Chair/approved faculty member will review and sign off on both undergraduate and graduate/professional student recommending lists, then the chair/approved faculty should be granted access to both of the roles below.
      1. Department Chair - UG: For department chair/approved faculty member who will approve undergraduate degree candidates.
      2. Department Chair - GR/Prof  - For department chair/approved faculty member who will approve graduate and/or professional degree candidates.
    2. Permissions are granted in the STF Notification Setup page (Main Menu > Set Up SACR > Product Related > Student Records > Curriculum Management > STF Notification Setup) via the following steps:
      • First, search for Academic Organization, this is your program or department name:

search for academic org

  • Next, enter in the chair/approved faculty information, select the appropriate Recommending List Role(s) from the drop down menu,  and click the 'Save' button, as shown below:

screen shot of final recommending list role options

To View and Approve Final Recommending Lists

  • After the student services administrator routes the final Recommending List to the Chair, an email will be sent to the Chair that the Recommending List is ready to be reviewed and approve.

  • Once the email is received, go to Teaching or Advising tab in Axess

  • Click on “Final Recommending List” in left column

link in Teaching menu to select Final Recommending Lists

  • Click on link for degree program (there is a separate list for each degree level or academic plan)

choose degree program for Final Recommending List

  • Review list of students and status of "approve" or "deny"

  • Enter any comments for Registrar's office

  • Click "Submit to Registrar" to acknowledge and approve the Final Recommending List

button to submit Final Recommending list to Registrar

Important notes:

  • Recommending List is only available to view after the student services administrator has routed list to Chair.

  • Chair can view Recommending List until it is submitted to Registrar.

  • Chair can submit list to Registrar starting on the late application to graduate deadline. Final Recommending Lists should be approved by the Final Recommending List deadline.

Key Deadlines for Final Recommending Lists

Term Application to Graduate Deadline Late Application to Graduate Deadline Grades for Graduating Students Due Final Recommending Lists Become Available (to save, not submission to Chair or Registrar) Final Recommending Lists Become Available (to submit to Chair and Registrar) Final Recommending List Deadline Faculty Senate Steering Committee Reviews Conferral Lists Degree Conferral Date
Autumn 2021-22 Friday, November 12, 5:00 pm Friday, December 3, 5:00 pm Tuesday, December 14, at 11:59 pm Saturday, August 24 Saturday, December 4 Thursday, December 16, Noon  Tuesday, January 4 Thursday, January 6
Winter 2021-22 Friday, February 25, 5:00 pm Friday, March 11, 5:00 pm Tuesday, March 22, at 11:59 pm Saturday, Novemeber 13 Saturday, March 12 Thursday, March 24, 5:00 pm Tuesday, March 29 Thursday, March 31
Spring 2021-22 Friday, April 8, 5:00 pm Friday, May 27, 5:00 pm Tuesday, June 10, at 11:59 pm Saturday, February 26 Saturday, May 28

Tuesday, June 14, Noon

Tuesday, June 14 Thursday, June 16  (Posting of degrees; degrees will be awarded with a conferral date of Commencement)
Summer 2021-22 Friday, July 29, 5:00 pm Friday, August 26, 5:00 pm Tuesday, August 23, at 11:59 pm Saturday, April 9 Saturday, August 27 Tuesday, September 15, 5:00 pm Tuesday, September 27

Thursday, September 29