Skip to content Skip to navigation

Final Recommending List Approval - Chair/Director

How to Set Up Chairs to Review Recommending Lists

  • A Chair needs the "SR Recommending Lists Chair" security role before they can approve Final Recommending Lists. Security can be granted by the authority granter in the school. Please work with your School in order to complete this initial step.

  • Each Chair must be set up for academic organization in STF Notification Setup panel in PeopleSoft. Search for "STF Notification Setup" in PeopleSoft Search, or follow this path:

    • Main Menu > Set Up SACR > Product Related > Student Records > Curriculum Management > STF Notification Setup

  • First, search for Academic Organization, this is your program or department name:

search for academic org

  • Enter your EMPLID, name, email address, telephone number, and the type of Recommending List Role which is appropriate for you.

    • Be sure to check “Notify” in order to receive emails when Final Recommending Lists are ready to be approved.

  • If you are only responsible for approving the Final Recommending List for Undergraduate students,  select Department Chair as your role as shown in this screenshot:

select recommending list role

  • If you are only responsible for approving the Final Recommending List for Graduate students or non UG students, select Department Chair Non UG as your role as shown in this screenshot:

select recommending list role Non-UG

  • If you are only responsible for approving the Final Recommending List for both graduate students and undergraduates, you must add a second row by clicking the plus sign, under the Recommending List Role and select Department Chair Non UG in one row, and Department Chair in the second row, as shown in the following screenshot:

select multiple recommending list roles

  • Remember to save your settings.

To View and Approve Final Recommending Lists

  • After the student services administrator routes the final Recommending List to the Chair, an email will be sent to the Chair that the Recommending List is ready to be reviewed and approve.

  • Once the email is received, go to Teaching or Advising tab in Axess

  • Click on “Final Recommending List” in left column

link in Teaching menu to select Final Recommending Lists

  • Click on link for degree program (there is a separate list for each degree level or academic plan)

choose degree program for Final Recommending List

  • Review list of students and status of "approve" or "deny"

  • Enter any comments for Registrar's office

  • Click "Submit to Registrar" to acknowledge and approve the Final Recommending List

button to submit Final Recommending list to Registrar

Important notes:

  • Recommending List is only available to view after the student services administrator has routed list to Chair.

  • Chair can view Recommending List until it is submitted to Registrar.

  • Chair can submit list to Registrar starting on the late application to graduate deadline. Final Recommending Lists should be approved by the Final Recommending List deadline.

Deadlines for Recommending List

Term Late Application to Graduate Deadline Grades Due Final Recommending List Deadline Faculty Senate Steering Committee Reviews Conferral Lists Degree Conferral
Summer 2016-17 Thursday, September 1, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017 Tuesday, September 12, 2017, 5:00 pm Tuesday, September 26, 2017 Thursday, September 28, 2017
Autumn 2017-18 Friday, December 8, 2017 Tuesday, December 19, 2017 Thursday, December 21, 2017, 5:00 pm Tuesday, January 9, 2018 Thursday, January 11, 2018
Winter 2017-18 Friday, March 16, 2018 Tuesday, March 27, 2018 Thursday, March 29, 2018, 5:00 pm Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Thursday, April 5, 2018
Spring 2017-18 Wednesday, June 6, 2018 Thursday, June 14, 2018, noon

PhD, DMA, Medicine: Monday, June 11, 2018, 2:00pm


UG, Masters, Engineer, GSB, Law: Thursday, June 14, 2018, 2:00pm

Thursday, June 14, 2018 Sunday, June 17, 2018
Summer 2017-18 Thursday, August 31, 2018 Tuesday, August 21, 2018 Tuesday, September 11, 2018, 5:00 pm Tuesday, September 25, 2018 Thursday, September 27, 2018